EC announces polls in 3 states of Northeast

The Election Commission on Thursday announced the schedule in February for assembly polls in three northeastern states of Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland besides by-elections to nine assembly seats in seven states.

Assembly elections in Tripura will be held on February 14 while in Meghalaya and Nagaland, they will be held on February 23.

Polling in the nine bye-elections will be held a day later, on February 24. Results, however, will be announced together on February 28.

With the announcement of the poll schedule, the model code of conduct will be in operation with immediate effect, a statement by the Election Commission said.

The Election Commission said electronic voting machines will be used in the elections to the three north-eastern states as well as in by-elections in the seven states.

Notification for Tripura elections will be issued on January 21 and for Meghalaya and Nagaland on January 30, the EC said.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus