EC removes Meghalaya police chief ahead of Assembly poll

The Election Commission on Thursday removed Meghalaya police chief Kulbir Krishan following a complaint from the state Chief Electoral Officer in order to ensure free and fair state Assembly polls on February 23.

Krishan has been replaced by Prem Singh, a 1977 batch IPS officer of Assam-Meghalaya cadre.

The Commission decided to change Meghalaya Director General of Police at its meeting chaired by Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath and attended by Election Commissioners H S Brahma and Nasim Zaidi.

Meghalaya, ruled by Congress-UDP alliance, goes to polls to elect its 60-member Assembly on February 23.

The transfer has been initiated following a report from the state Chief Electoral officer on the basis of complaints against him, top EC sources said.

Krishan has been appointed as Director General of Prisons, with additional charge of civil defence and home guards.

The Election Commission today also set up a round-the-clock Control Room at its headquarters in Delhi for monitoring complaints regarding elections to Assemblies of Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura later this month.

The complaints can be sent to the Election Commission of India's Control Room with telephone numbers 011-23710000 and 011-23718888 and Fax numbers 011-23713412 and 011-23739944.

The poll body today rejected four nominations during scrutiny and the last date for withdrawal is February 9.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.