EC transfers Prajapati encounter accused, 5 other cops

The Election Commission on Thursday transferred six police officers, including DySP R K Patel who was chargesheeted by the CBI in the Tulsiram Prajapati encounter case. Patel was transferred back to the CID (crime) where he had probed the encounter before the central agency took over the case.

Patel had investigated the Prajapati case in 2010 and had arrested IPS officers D G Vanzara, Rajkumar Pandian and Dinesh MN, who are accused in the Sohrabuddin Sheikh encounter case.

In his chargesheet filed in a Danta court, Patel had given a clean chit to former minister Amit Shah. His chargesheet was based on call records of former investigating officer of the case Geetha Johri, the then IGP (Crime).

The CBI, which also based its investigations on the call records along with other proofs, had found Shah involved in conspiracy and execution of the encounter of Prajapati on December 28 2006.

CBI has chargesheeted Patel for leaving loopholes in the investigation of the case. He has also been accused of shielding Pandian during CID's investigations.

Besides Patel, the EC transferred Surat ACP K S Trivedi, M B Joshi of Gandhinagar, Tapi DySP N M Parmar, in charge of security at Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation S R Solanki and ASP Nirlipt Rai.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus