Eight city clusters to be developed at Rs 2,100 cr

Karnataka government today decided to develop eight city clusters in Bangalore Metropolitan Region Development Authority (BMRDL) areas at an estimated cost of Rs 2,100 crore.

Government will avail Rs 1,400 crore loan from Asian Development Bank and contribute Rs 700 crore to develop the city clusters, Minister for Urban Development, S Suresh Kumar told reporters after the cabinet meeting here.

The Karnataka Industrial Development Corporation had submitted a plan to the government suggesting development of city clusters in areas falling under BMRDL as its study indicated that the population there would inflate to 1.80 crore by 2030, he said.

Kumar said the city clusters will come up between Ramanagar and Channapatna, Nelamangala-Dabaspet, Anekal-Jigani, Devanahalli-Vijaypura and Hoskote-K R Puram. City clusters will also be developed at Magadi, Kanakapura and Doddaballapur, he added.

The cabinet also decided to expand four-lane to six-lane Bus Rapid Transit System (BRTS) corridor project on Hubli-Dharwad road, Kumar said.

"The Rs 82 crore project will be allocated to GVR Infrastructure Projects Limited and will have to complete it by 2015," he said.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.