Europe, Asia’s best for Women’s Indian Open

Indian pros Smriti Mehra, Sharmila Nicollet and others will be up against a tough international field, including the likes of 2010 winner Laura Davies and defending champion Caroline Hedwall, when the tri-sanctioned Hero Women's Golf Open starts on November 30. Around 108 golfers from more than 25 countries will feature in the sixth edition of which carries a total prize purse of $ 300,000 and will be hosted by the DLF Golf and Country Club in Gurgaon.

Since the tournament is the penultimate one on the European Tour, the race to win the money list will be even more intense and that has made sure that the region's top pros are vying to come here.

"A total of 108 players, including 45 players from the European circuit and 35 from the Ladies Asian Golf Tour will be competing. We had so many requests that we had to reject a lot of players," secretary general of the Women's Golf Association of India (WGAI), Champika Sayal said. In fact, the player requests may see another international women's tournament hosted by India next year as Sayal says that a co-sanctioned event only with the Ladies Asian Golf Tour (LAGT) is in the pipeline.

Among the Indian's there will 14 pros alongside three amateurs.

The three-day championship is currently tri-sanctioned by WGAI, LAGT apart from the Ladies European Tour.

Nalini Singh Siwach will be playing her sixth Indian Open as a professional while Vani Kapoor, who has had a phenomenal season winning three domestic titles will debut as a pro this time.

"This time every shot will cost me money so that will be a whole new dynamics," Vani laughed before adding: "I will be playing at my home course so I am pretty confident."

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.