Four new Gujarat HC judges take oath

Four new additional judges of Gujarat High Court took oath of office here today.

With the appointment of S G Shah, G R Udhwani, S H Vora and R D Kothari, the strength of judges in the Gujarat High Court increased to 32, against the sanctioned strength of 42. Chief Justice Bhaskar Bhattacharya administered them oath of office at a ceremony in the Committee Room of the High Court.

Justice S G Shah was earlier a Registrar of the Supreme Court, G R Udhwani was Registrar General of Gujarat High Court, S H Vora was Principal and District Judge at City Civil and Sessions Court, Ahmedabad, and R D Kothari was Principal and District Judge at Nadiad in the state.

Registrar (Judicial) M J Thakkar has been now made in-charge Registrar General of Gujarat HC.

State Law Minister Dilip Sanghani, Minister of State for Law Pradipsinh Jadeja, President of Gujarat High Court Advocate's association Vijay Patel, Advocate General Kamal Trivedi, Additional Advocate General Tushar Mehta and Government Pleader Prakash Jani, among others, were present in the ceremony.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.