Fresh from victory, Narendra Modi says state will break records

Narendra Modi was elected as the leader of the BJP's legislative wing at Gandhinagar on Tuesday, formally paving the way for his swearing in as the Chief Minister.

The party's seven-time MLA Vajubhai Vala proposed Modi's name, which was supported by all members in the presence of observer and senior leader Arun Jaitley.

In his address to the 115 MLAs and party workers, Modi indicated that the new Cabinet formation would take some time. Commenting on media speculation, he said, "There have been breaking news in this regard by all channels. Collectively, they have made all the 115 MLAs ministers." Speculation is high about number two in the previous Cabinet Anandi Patel being appointed deputy CM.

Modi spoke about the 'DNA of BJP'. Calling political scientists to look into party's "work culture" he said, "This party is not person-oriented but management oriented and we have institutionalised the BJP ideology, so much that it runs in the blood of every worker. Gujarat will break new records and people world over are amused at how the BJP functions in Gujarat. We have the best example of team spirit here."

He urged followers of politics to study Gujarat where soon after the results no MLA is required to be protected to prevent horse-trading.

Modi heaped praise on party workers, comparing them with soldiers.

"While a new government takes 100 days to get comfortable, I have been busy since 100 hours. Even after three months of hectic poll-related work, we have readied the Kankaria carnival and are organising the sixth edition of Vibrant Gujarat Business Summit in January...," Modi said.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.