Gambhir ICC Test Player of Year, Dhoni ODI Player

Gautam Gambhir

Indians shone at the International Cricket Council awards night here with captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Gautam Gambhir named as the ODI and Test Players of the Year at a glittering ceremony.

The most coveted Cricketer of the Year Award, however, went to Australian Mitchel Johnson who had a phenomenal year with both the bat and the ball in Test and ODI crickets in the past year.

Johnson beat Dhoni, Gambhir and England captain Andrew Strauss in a four-way race for the ICC Cricketer of the Year Award.

The 27-year-old Australian fast bowler took 80 wickets from 17 matches he played in the year along with 632 valuable runs at an average of 30.09, including a century.

In the 16 ODIs he played during the year, Johnson scalped 28 victims and scored 83 runs in the voting period from August 13, 2008 to August 24, 2009.

Interestingly, Gambhir won the Test Player of the Year Award by beating Johnson, Strauss and Sri Lankan Thilan Samaraweera.

Gambhir scored 1269 runs from eight matches he played in the voting period with an astronomic average of 84.60 with five hundreds.

His captain Dhoni retained the ODI Player Year of the Year Award, which he won last year also.

ICC World ODI Team of the Year: Virender Sehwag (India), Chris Gayle (West Indies), Kevin Pietersen (England), Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Yuvraj Singh (India), Martin Guptill (New Zealand), MS Dhoni (Ind; capt., wk), Andrew Flintoff (England), Nuwan Kulasekara (Sri Lanka), Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka), Umar Gul (Pakistan). 12th man: Thilan Thushara (Sri Lanka).

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year:

Tillekratne Dilshan (SL).

Umpire of the Year: Aleem Dar (Pakistan)

Spirit of Team Award: New Zealand

Emerging Player of Year: Peter Siddle (Australia)

Associate and Affiliate Player of Year Award: William Porterfield (Ireland)

Women Cricketer of Year: Claire Taylor (England)

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.