Govt gets data on investments by Indians in tax havens


The Indian government has obtained data of investments made by hundreds of Indians in tax havens such as the British Virgin Islands, the Cook Islands and Cayman Islands, some of which was part of a global media expose on offshore investments and secret financial transactions two months ago.

The Central Board of Direct Taxes has begun examining the information.

How international journalists' team analysed offshore files

The data about entities, registered by Indians through international financial service providers such as Portcullis Trustnet (PTN) of Singapore and the Commonwealth Trust Limited (CTL) in the British Virgin Islands, was provided by the Australian taxation office using the Tax Information Exchange Agreement.

Top government sources told The Sunday Express that tax authorities in Australia, Britain and the US had received identical data about such offshore investments, and they had decided they would share intelligence and documents which hint at suspected tax avoidance with other countries according to their jurisdiction. Subsequently, Indian authorities made a formal request for the data, sources said.

In the biggest global expose of its kind, an international group of investigative journalists had reported in April that they had found details of over 1.2 lakh offshore entities and trusts belonging to individuals and companies in more than 170 countries and territories, including India.

The data was obtained by the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists (ICIJ), which had collaborated with 38 media organisations around the world, including the The Indian Express, to analyse the documents.

The information showed that 612 Indians were among the thousands who had opened offshore entities through the CTL and PTN trusts. The 612 Indians included two members of Parliament — Lok Sabha Congress MP Vivekanand Gaddam and RS member Vijay Mallya — and several industrialists such as Ravikant Ruia, Samir Modi, Chetan Burman, Abhey Kumar Oswal, Rahul Mammen Mappillai, Teja Raju, Saurabh Mittal and Vinod Doshi.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.