GTU pass-outs can outscore IITians: A M Naik

Addressing students at the second convocation of the Gujarat Technological University (GTU) here Saturday, Larsen & Toubro chairman Anil M Naik said that students from GTU colleges can beat those from IITs and IIMs if provided proper opportunity.

Naik, who was invited as a guest of honour along with spiritual guru Sri Sri Ravishankar, said his company never went to IITs and IIMs for hiring. Yet his company, he said, was counted among the top engineering and construction firms in the country and Prime Minister Manmohan Singh proudly called L&T as "national strategic company" having an annual turnover of Rs 1800 crore, with the government holding 32% stake in it.

Having studied in BVM Engineering College at Anand, now under GTU, he said it was not important from which institution one had studied but the hard work and ability to deliver that ultimately helped the candidates to excel. "You can surpass IITs and IIMs," he told the pass-out engineering and management students who had gathered at GTU's new campus at Chandkheda to receive their degrees.

Naik, a Padma Bhushan recipient for his achievements in the field of engineering, was conferred honorary degree of doctorate by the GTU. Indian-origin US astronaut Sunita Williams was also conferred honorary doctorate degree in absentia.

State Education Minister Bhupendrasinh Chudasma said his government was considering setting up 12 degree engineering colleges and eight diploma colleges under the PPP model.

Governor Kamla Beniwal also addressed the students.

A total of 27,750 students from engineering, pharmacy, computer and management courses were awarded degrees.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.