Guj polls: Voting for second phase tomorrow

Ninety-five seats will go for polling tomorrow in the second and last phase of Gujarat Assembly elections in which 1.98 crore voters will decide the fate of 820 candidates including Chief Minister Narendra Modi, who is seeking his third term.

Polling will take place in 40 constituencies in five districts of central Gujarat, on 32 seats in five districts of north Gujarat, 17 seats of Ahmedabad city area and on six seats in Kutch district.

After the impressive 70.75 per cent voting for the 87 seats in the first phase, tomorrow's polling has attained much more significance, particularly when apart from Modi many of his Cabinet colleagues are also facing the test of voters in the second phase.

From Congress party, its senior-most leader and former Chief Minister Shankarsinh Vaghela, his son Mahendra Vaghela, former state Congress president Siddharth Patel, Shweta Bhatt (wife of suspended IPS officer Sanjiv Bhatt) are contesting the poll in this phase.

On Monday, voters will decide the fate of political bigwigs like state ministers Anandi Patel, Saurabh Patel, Jaynarayan Vyas, Ramanlal Vora, Praful Patel, Pradipsinh Jadeja and Fakir Vaghela.

Former Minister of State for Home and accused in Tulsi Prajapati and Sohrabuddin Sheikh alleged fake encounter cases, Amit Shah will also be awaiting his fate following tomorrow's voting.

On Ellisbridge seat in Ahmedabad, Gujarat Parivartan Party (GPP) of Keshubhai Patel has given ticket to Jagruti Pandya, the wife of slain BJP leader and former Minister of State for Home Haren Pandya.

For the second phase, BJP has fielded candidates on all 95 seats going to the poll, whereas Congress is contesting on 92 and GPP on 84 seats.

Apart from these three major parties, there are a total of 32 political parties and 284 independents in the fray.

Voting will take place at 23,318 polling stations, for which the Election Commission has made elaborate security arrangements.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.