Guj polls:BJP too faces revolt over nominations

It was BJP's turn to face revolt from a section of the party leaders today who failed to get nominations in the first list of 84 party candidates announced last night.

Chairman of Agriculture Produce Marketing Committee at Sanand, Kanbha Gohil, today tendered his resignation from the BJP after he was denied ticket for the Sanand assembly constituency.

"The party has ignored the aspirations of my community and imposed an outsider. I will continue working for the community but not for the party," Gohil said today.

Over 5,000 supporters of Gohil held demonstration today protesting against the party decision to give ticket to Kamabhai Rathod.

Similarly, Chairperson of Ahmedabad District Panchayat Health Committee Kantaben Thakor and her husband Kunvarji Thokor, who was President of Detroj City unit of the party resigned from their posts in protest against the party decision to field Pragji Patel from Viramgam constituency.

Some of the agitated members of the party have decided to form 'Sardar Patel Sena' and wowed to campaign against BJP in Viramgam, said sources.

In Surat, four Councillors tendered their resignations in protest against allotment of ticket to Sangita Patil for the Limbayat constituency.

"Instead of giving ticket to a local leader, the party has selected Sangita Patil who is from Udhna, not from Limbayat," said one dissenting leader.

The state unit of Congress had also faced similar revolt from some of its leaders following denial of tickets to them on Wednesday.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.