Gujarat elections 2012: Cliffhanger in 35 seats

Be it the gun-totting Vitthal Radadiya of the Congress or state NCP chief Jayant Bosky, it was very close contest for some of the winners in 35 Gujarat Assembly election constituencies where the victory margin was less than 5,000 votes.

Radadiya, who contested from Dhoraji, won by 2,943 votes against his nearest rival from BJP. Bosky won by 1,394 votes to become only the second NCP candidate to win.

The smallest victory margin was recorded in Sojitra constituency, where Punambhai Parmar of Congress defeated BJP's candidate Vipulkumar Patel by 162 votes.

Another Congress candidate from Kalol, Baldevji Thakor, edged out BJP's Atul Patel by a mere 343 votes, while Dharshibhai Khanpura (Congress) won against BJP's Prabatsinh Vaghela by just 600 votes.

BJP's candidate from Anand, Dilip Patel, won just by 987 votes.

While the victory margins for Congress candidates for 21 seats was below 5,000 votes, BJP (12 seats), GPP (1) and NCP (1) also had their own shares of close encounters.

Among the BJP ministers who won by wafer-thin margins were minister of state for water supply Parbat Patel (3,473 votes) and minister of state for higher education Vasuben Trivedi (2,862 votes).

State BJP president R C Faldu lost by just 3,304 votes to Congress's Raghavji Patel from the Jamnagar Rural seat.

Congress's C K Raulji won the Godhra Assembly constituency by just 2,868 votes, defeating his nearest rival from BJP.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.