Gujarat HC gets four new judges

Four new additional judges of the Gujarat High Court took oath of office in Ahmedabad on Monday. They were administered the oath of office by Chief Justice Bhaskar Bhattacharya, in the presence of law minister and other senior law officers of the state and the Central government.

The four new judges have been identified as Subodhkumar Shah, Satish Vora, Ghanshyam Udhwani and Rajendra Kothari.

Shah was working as Registrar at Supreme Court whereas, Udhwani was Registrar General of HC. Vora was Principal Judge of Ahmedabad City Civil & Sessions Court and Kothari was Principal District Judge of Kheda district. Vora was also the special trial judge for the 2002 Naroda Gam massacre case that was further investigated by SC-appointed Special Investigation Team. With the four appointments, the total number of judges at the HC has reached 30.

The function was held at the committee room of the HC in the presence of a number of persons that include spouses/relatives of the appointed judges, judicial officers of the state as well as central government along with officials of HC and senior lawyers at the HC. Law Minister Dilip Sanghani and Minister of State for Law Pradipsinh Jadeja also remained present on the occasion.

Following elevation of Udhwani as HC judge, Registrar (Judicial) M J Thakkar has been given additional charge of HC Registrar General.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.