Gujarat Polls: BSP to contest all 182 assembly seats

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) today said it will put up candidates in all the 182

constituencies in Gujarat for the Assembly polls.

"Our leader Mayawati has decided that the party will contest from all the seats in Gujarat on its own and will not to have seat adjustments with any political party," Member of Legislative Council (UP) Dharmaprakash Bhartiya told reporters


The party also declared the first list of 50 candidates.

In the 2007 Assembly polls, BSP had fielded candidates in 166 seats and secured 2.62 per cent of the total votes.

On the party's prospects, he claimed, "We might not form our government but we will definitely be the king maker in the state.

"We are very clear in our strategy and no political party in the state has yet dared to select their candidates, which shows that they are mired in serious power struggles,"

he said.

Accusing Chief Miniister Narendra Modi of adopting 'double standards' on the issue of corruption, he said, "Modi is attacking the UPA government on the corruption issue but here one of his ministers has been allegedly involved in a multi-crore scam."

"Modi should resign on moral grounds," he demanded.

He said that BSP chief Mayawati will soon visit Gujarat for campaigning.

"Our leader Mayawati will definitely come, if needed than more than once to the state," he said.

In the 2007 polls, BJP and Congress had cornered 49.12 per cent and 39.63 per cent of the votes respectively, whereas BSP came in the third place with a share of 2.62 per cent of votes.

Assembly elections in the state are scheduled to be held on December 13 and 17 and counting of votes will be held on December 20.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.