Guru, Thulasi crowned winners

In a fiercely contested match that kept an enthralled audience at the edge of their seats, R M V Gurusaidutt defeated compatriot B. Sai Praneeth 21-19, 21-12 to grab the title of the Tata Open India International Challenge 2012 in the Men's Singles category. The women's title was won by Indian P C Thulasi beating Febby Angguni of Indonesia.

Elated with his victory at the Tata Open India International Challenge 2012, R MV Gurusaidutt said, "My confidence has been high after the Macau Grand Prix as I beat a couple of high ranked players. My intensive training at the academy and the national camp helped me push myself to the limits. Sai Praneeth is an extremely talented player who has had an upper hand and has beaten me thrice before in this year. I'm extremely overjoyed to have defeated him and won the Tata Open India International Challenge."

Guru prevailed over his team-mate 21-15, 21-13 in straight sets in a 40-minute affair, and heads into Lucknow's Syed Modi tourney high on confidence. P C Thulasi expressed her excitement at winning the title and said, "I've been in good form throughout the tournament. I just hung in there today, playing safe and my opponent (Febby Angguni from Indonesia) made a lot of unforced errors that helped me. Like my matches against Chinese Taipei and Thailand, this too was very close and challenging." Though the scores will not indicate it, she was stretched by the Indonesian and ran ragged for 56 minutes during her title win. In women's doubles, the Indian pairing of Aparna Balan and Siki Reddy couldn't keep up their momentum after winning the first set, and went down to Korean top-seeds So Hee Lee - Seung Chan Shin 19-21, 21-13, 21-17 after an hour-long match.

Results: Women's singles: 5-P C Thulasi (India) bt Febby Angguni (Indonesia) 21-15, 21-13. Men's Singles: 2-R M V Gurusaidutt (India) bt 4-B Sai Praneeth (India) 21-19, 21-12. Mixed Doubles: 1-Weni Anggraini/Irfan Fadhilah (Indonesia) bt Alfian Eko Prasetya/Gloria Emanuelle Widjaja (Indonesia) 21-16, 21-19. Women's doubles: 1-Shin Seung Chan/Lee So Hee (Korea) bt 2-Aparna Balan/N Siki Reddy (India) 19-21, 21-13, 21-17. Men's doubles: 1-Lee Yong Dae/Ko Sung Hyun (Korea) bt Cho Gun Woo/Kim Dae Eun (Korea) 21-11, 21-10.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus