High five for Vora; Neha Prasad smashes 16-yr-old mark

Saumya Vora of NSCI announced his arrival on the circuit with a spectacular effort of five new meet records to take away the honours on day one of the 41st Bombay YMCA Inter Club Swimming Championship, at the YMCA Swimming Pool.

Vora was in devastating form as he left arch rivals Sidharth Sankhe of Otters Club and Omkar Nehete of Mandpeshwar Civic Federation, Borivali far behind. Vora set the tone for a record-breaking spree in every event he entered with new marks in the boys' under-14 100m freestyle, 100m butterfly, 100m backstroke and 100m breaststroke that all stood in the name of Otters Club's Parikshit Shetty for 12 long years, and the 200m individual medley.

Neha Prasad of Khar Gymkhana was the other significant performer of the day when she smashed the girls' under-14 backstroke record with an effort of 1.11.31 seconds that shattered the 16-year-old mark of 1.13.62 set by YMCA's Delna Bhumgara, and later went on to add gold in the 100m breaststroke, 100m freestyle and 200m individual medley.


Boys U-14: 100m freestyle: 1. Saumya Vora (NSCI) 0.57.46 secs NMR; 2. Aniket Jagtap (Police) 1.01.68; 3. Nicholas Fernando (Andheri Sports Complex) 1.02.73. Boys U-14: 100m butterfly: 1. Saumya Vora (NSCI) 1.05.02 secs NMR; 2. Nicholas Fernando (Andheri Sports Complex) 1.08.47; 3.Vedant Khandeparkar (NSCI) 1.08.66. Boys U-14: 100m backstroke: 1. Saumya Vora (NSCI) 1.06.29 secs NMR; 2. Vedant Khandeparkar (NSCI) 1.12.33; 3. Omkar Nehete (Mandpeshwar Civic Fed) 1.14.34. Boys U-14: 100m breaststroke: 1. Saumya Vora (NSCI) 1.13.80 secs NMR; 2. Sidharth Sankhe (Otters Club) 1.16.81; 3. Omkar Nehete (Mandpeshwar Civic Fed) 1.16.88. Boys U-14: 200m Ind. Medley: 1. Saumya Vora (NSCI) 2.24.11 secs NMR; 2. Omkar Nehete (Mandpeshwar Civic Fed) 2.32.65; 3. Sidharth Sankhe (Otters Club) 2.33.55. Girls U-14: 100m backstroke: 1. Neha Prasad (Khar Gym) 1.11.31 NMR; 2. Jahnvi Shah (CCI) 1.19.86; 3. Proteeti Sinha (Khar Gym) 1.20.12. Girls U-14: 100m freestyle: 1. Neha Prasad (Khar Gym); 2. Jaini Gogri (Matunga Gym); 3. Proteeti Sinha (Khar Gym). Girls U-14: 100m breaststroke: 1. Neha Prasad (Khar Gym); 2. Uma Tulapurkar (CSMSS); 3. Proteeti Sinha (Khar Gym). Girls U-14: 200m Ind. Medley: 1. Neha Prasad (Khar Gym); 2. Proteeti Sinha (Khar Gym); 3. Arlein D'Mello (CSMSS). Girls U-12: 100m backstroke: 1. Muskaan Tolani (Otters Club) 1.15.82 NMR; 2. Sana Gaya (Khar Gym) 1.18.63; 3. Ariesa Mongia (NSCI) 1.19.55.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.