Ilayaraja gets Sangeet Natak Akademi award

Legendary composer Ilayaraja is among nine artistes from the field of music who will receive the Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards for 2012 while Grammy Award-winning percussionist T H Vinayakram and veteran playwright Ratan Thiyam and violinist N Rajam have been chosen for the prestigious Sangeet Natak Akademi fellowship.

Ilayaraja has been awarded for Creative and Experimental Music. The other eight artistes chosen for the award are Rajashekhar Mansur, Ajay Pohankar, Sabir Khan, Bahauddin Dagar, O S Thyagarajan, Mysore M Nagaraja, K V Prasad and Bhai Balbir Singh Ragi.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.