Ind vs Aus: India hailed after completing historic 4-0 whitewash of Australia

A battery of current and former cricketers hailed India's historic 4-0 whitewash of Australia as the hosts completed the clean sweep with a six-wicket win in the fourth Test, here.

Dropped opener Gautam Gambhir, who is down with jaundice these days, led the congratulatory messages on the social networking website.

"Congrats boys, well done. Njoy it big time, a well-deserved whitewash," wrote the Delhi opener on his twitter page.

Legendary Australian spinner Shane Warne appreciated the young guns of India.

"Congrats to India on the series win and the way their young players have played..." he tweeted.

The BCCI also joined in praising the team and the exemplary leadership by skipper M S Dhoni.

"The overwhelming 4-0 Test series triumph of India over Australia in the Border-Gavaskar trophy is a historic achievement to say the least. The triumph is indeed a reflection of Dhoni's able leadership skills as the chemistry and camaraderie between the Indian players was absolutely phenomenal throughout the series; the players really challenged themselves to play better and play more as a unit," said senior BCCI official Rajeev Shukla.

Former Australian pace bowler Glenn McGrath wrote, "A very convincing win to India. India totally dominated the series. Aussies have a lot of work to do before the Ashes. Congratulations India."

India's struggling paceman Zaheer Khan also congratulated the team.

"Congratulations team INDIA on a great series win !!"

Former India opener and now an expert and author Aakash Chopra wrote, "Lost all the tosses but won all the matches. Outstanding result for India. Well done :) "

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.