India beat Pak 2-1, book final berth in Asian Champions Trophy


Indian upfront were found wanting on many occasions and they wasted all the four penalty corners they obtained.

Pakistan held upper hand in the first quarter but individual game spoilt their show.

India just created one chance in the first quarter when young Chinglensana hit from the left flank for a deflection in the circle. However, Pradhan Somanna applied the stick only to see the ball rise and sail high above the goal cage.

Three minutes later, India attacked ferociously but in vain. Gurwinder Chandi received a long pass from defender VR Raghunath on the left flank. He dodged past two players and set up Nitin Thimmaiah who, however, failed to trap the ball near the backline.

India got a chance to go up in the 27th minute, but poor penalty corner drill let India down. The ball could not be stopped properly, still Rupinder Pal took a shot but misdirected it.

India's winger Sunil almost scored a goal on the run, but Rashid Mohd came in the nick of time to make a goal-line save.

The game had to be stopped just before half time when Rupinder Pal's stick hit Shafqat Rasool and the Pakistani was seen writhing in pain on the turf.

Early in the second half, Pakistan got two penalty corners. Defender Raghunath blocked the first one while Mohd. Irfan shot wide in the second.

Mercurial forward Shakeel Abbasi missed a sitter in the 48th minute when he lost control inside the Indian circle even as he was all alone in his extremely delightful solo.

He also let another chance go in the 62nd minute when Pakistan was trailing 1-2.

Pakistan pressed hard in the last five minutes, but India saw off their attack.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.