India to play in 2012 Champions Trophy hockey

India has been named as one of five confirmed teams for the men's Champions Trophy hockey tournament to be held in Melbourne later this year, thereby ending the nation's six-year long wait for making a comeback to the prestigious event.

Apart from India, the other confirmed participating countries are hosts Australia, Belgium, Germany, the Netherlands and New Zealand with the field to be increased to eight in total after the London Olympics, the International Hockey Federation (FIH) disclosed in its website.

The 34th Championship Trophy will be held at the State Netball Hockey Centre in Melbourne -- the same venue that hosted the 2009 edition of the event -- from December 1-9.

The Champions Trophy will be the first top level international tournament after the London Games.

India last featured in the Champions Trophy way back in 2005 in Chennai where they finished fifth as hosts.

Incidentally, India could have returned to the Champions Trophy fold last year, if not for the FIH which snatched away the hosting rights from the country because of the long-standing dispute between two warring federations -- Hockey India and Indian Hockey Federation.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus