Jadavpur Univ V-C resigns

Jadavpur University Vice-Chancellor Souvik Bhattacharya, who along with the pro-vice chancellor and the registrar was gheraoed for 51 hours by students in September, has resigned citing personal reasons and "severe impediments" in his style of working.

"I had joined as the V-C 14 months ago and had a lot of dreams. Honesty, integrity and ethics are important for me but there had been severe impediments in my style of working," Bhattacharya, who had sent his resignation to Governor and Chancellor M K Narayanan before the Durga Puja, said Tuesday.

He, however, refused to elaborate on the "impediments" saying that he was not entirely successful in his duty as the V-C. "I will go back to IIT Kharagpur where I used to teach mechanical engineering," Bhattacharya, who was appointed as the V-C for four years, said.

Meanwhile, Education Minister Bratya Basu today said Bhattacharya's resignation has been accepted and Professor Abhijit Chakraborty, vice chairman of the Higher Education Council, has been handed over the charge for the next six months before a new vice-chancellor is appointed.

Bhattacharya, along with the pro-vice chancellor and the registrar, was gheraoed for 51 hours by engineering students of the university from September 18 demanding revocation of suspension of two fourth-year students on ragging charges. However, the suspensions were not revoked.

Sources said that the V-C was not happy with political intervention in the functioning of the university. "Soon after his appointment, he raised several issues which made him unpopular with government representatives," said a professor seeking anonymity.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.