Jindal Steel start with win

In the very first match of the 112th edition of the Indian Open Polo Championship 2011, Jindal Steel & Power took on SSC-HPRC team. An outstanding effort by Tom De Bruin of JSP who scored 8 goals by himself, two field goals and converted five penalties saw his team capture a glorious win against SSC-HPRC by 12-9 goals.

The opening chukkar saw both teams play an aggressive game. At the throw-in, Simran Shergill got onto the ball and passed a lofted shot up to Tom De Bruin who made a run towards the goal, with Manupal Godara right behind him. Tom scored a brilliant under the neck shot goal in the opening chukkar of the match. Back at the throw-in, Angad Kalaan got the ball and hit a straight shot towards the goal.

The third goal of the first chukkar was a penalty 5B which was taken by Tom De Bruin for a foul made by Dhruvpal Godara against JSP. Another foul by SSC-HPRC gave JSP a 30-yard penalty which was ably converted by Tom making the scoreline read 3-1 goals in favour of Jindal Steel & Power at the end of 1st Chukkar. The second chukkar saw Simran Shergill and Max Charlton score a goal each with Samir Suhag pitching in a goal for his side in the second chukkar.

The third chukkar started with a foul by Navin Jindal as he hooked Samir Suhag resulting in a 40-yard penalty which Samir converted into a goal. Back at throw-in, Angad Kalaan got onto the ball and hit a lofted shot upto Manupal Godara who took it on the near side and struck his first goal. JSP was quick to catch up and did not let SSC-HPRC score any more goals post that. Simran Shergill scored one of the best goals of the day.

He was ably backed by Tom De Bruin who made two quick goals in succession, a 40-yard penalty and a field goal. The scoreboard at the end of the third chukkar read 8-4 goals in favour of Jindal Steel & Power.

The fourth chukkar saw Jindal Steel & Power further consolidate their scoreline with Tom De Bruin on fire with two more goals by him and a single goal by Samir Suhag. Both teams played defensive with almost no penalties or fouls in this chukkar. Once again, Tom De Bruin & Angad Kalaan scored a goal each in the fifth chukkar making it 11-6 goals still in favour of JSP.

The sixth & final chukkar began with the score reading 11-6 goals in favour of Jindal Steel & Power. SSC-HPRC tried to lessen the gap scoring three goals in total in this chukkar with a brilliant effort by Samir Suhag. Max Charlton scored the lone goal for his side at the beginning of the chukkar. After plenty of play and hitting with no successful goals, a foul by Max Charlton gave SSC-HPRC a 60-yard penalty and Samir Suhag, the penalty taker took it with a single hit and into the goal mouth.

His second goal came in quick succession and a good pass by Manupal Godara ensured a goal. The last goal was scored by Dhruvpal Godara who picked up the ball at the throw-in and made a run towards the goal with the JSP team members chasing him to the goal mouth. Dhruvpal converted a good goal but in vain as at the end of the sixth and final chukkar the scoreline read 12-9 goals in favour of Jindal Steel & Power.

Goals scored:

Jindal Steel & Power: Simran Shergill - 2 goals, Max Charlton 2 goals & Tom De Bruin 8 goals.

SSC-HPRC: Dhruvpal Godara - 1 goal, Manupal Godara - 1 goal, Angad Kalaan 2 goals & Samir Suhag 5 goals.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.