Kejriwal's '48 hours' end today, AAP's trust vote in House

AAPKejriwal's '48 hours' closing in, Trust vote tomorrow. (PTI)

The first session of the new Delhi Assembly began on Wednesday with the newly-elected MLAs taking oath and will continue till January 7 during which the Arvind Kejriwal-led government will seek a vote of confidence on the floor of the House.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal was first to take oath followed by Manish Sisodia and his other ministerial colleagues. Senior Congress MLA Mateen Ahmad, who is the pro-tem speaker, administered the oath of office and secrecy to the newly-elected MLAs.

The new AAP government will seek the trust vote on Thursday while election of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker will be held on January 3.

Lt Governor Najeeb Jung will address the House on January 6. On January 7, a discussion on Jung's address will take place.

In the 70-member assembly, AAP has 28 MLAs, eight short of a majority. AAP has the support of 8 MLAs of Congress, which is expected to see across the half-way mark. BJP has 31 members and its ally Akali Dal 1.

AAP had named first-time MLA M S Dhir as its candidate for Speaker's post.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal had announced the name of senior Congress MLA Mateen Ahmad as the pro-tem speaker on Tuesday. A pro-tem Speaker presides over proceedings relating to taking of oath by new members and other business till the election of Speaker.

Senior BJP leader and MLA Jagdish Mukhi had on Tuesday night declined to be the pro-tem Speaker of Delhi Assembly.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.