KJP will contest all 224 Assembly seats: B S Yeddyurappa

B S Yeddyurappa

Former Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa said Karnataka Janata Party (KJP), which he is expected to lead after parting ways with BJP, will contest all 224 seats in the state Assembly elections due early next year.

"I will field KJP candidates in all 224 seats in the next Assembly elections," the disgruntled BJP leader said at Mantralaya.

Yeddyurappa, who has announced his resolve to quit BJP this month-end, said he was confident of his party reaping rich dividends in the next Assembly polls as regional parties were playing a bigger role in the country's politics.

Yeddyurappa had last week installed his loyalist V Dhananjaya Kumar as KJP chief. The party is expected to be formally launched at a rally at Haveri on December 9.

Yeddyurappa ruled out alliance with JD(S) and Congress in future elections but would have talks with farmers' bodies and other organisations for creating an impact in the polls.

Replying to a question, Yeddyurappa said though the Lokayukta report had not indicted him in illegal mining scam, he was forced to resign because party state president K S Eshwarappa and other leaders had sent a "wrong" message to BJP central leaders.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.