LS polls: BSP ready with ‘unofficial list’

Nirmal Khatri

Relatives of party leaders are likely to get tickets for the next Lok Sabha polls

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) is likely to finalise the names of party candidates for the Lok Sabha elections next month. The party leadership has already finalised the names of more than 50 candidates out of the total 80 Lok Sabha seats in the state.

Despite Mayawati asking the party workers to avoid nepotism, relatives of many leaders are likely to get tickets for the next Lok Sabha polls. BSP general secretary Naseemuddin Siddiqui's son Afzal Siddiqui is likely to get the party ticket from Fatehpur Lok Sabha seat.

Sources said former energy minister Ramveer Upadhyay's brother Mukul is likely to be named for Ghaziabad seat. Upadhyay's wife Seema is a sitting MP from Fatehpur Sikri seat. Party MP from Aligarh Raj Kumari Chauhan is also likely to be repeated as party candidate. Chauhan is wife of party MLC and former minister Jaiveer Singh. The party is unlikely to deny tickets to any of its 20 sitting Lok Sabha MPs.

Former minister Abdul Mannan, who lost the Assembly election from Sandila seat of Hardoi, is being considered for Lakhimpur seat. Mannan's brother Abdul Hannan is a sitting BSP MLC. The party is considering the name of sitting MLA from Mubarakpur constituency Shah Alam alias Guddu Jamali for Azamgarh seat, Kailash Yadav for Ghazipur seat and Anil Maurya for Chandauli seat. The names of party candidates for Pratapgarh, Varanasi and Ballia seats are likely to be declared soon, said a party leader.

Sources in the party inform that former minister Sadal Prasad has been given the ticket for Bansgaon seat, Kashinath Mishra for Maharajganj seat, Sita Ram Verma for Sultanpur seat, Kamala Rawat for Barabanki seat, Dr Kiran Bharti for Bahraich seat, and Chandra Prakash Matiyari for Amethi seat.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.