Ludhiana MLAs skip DCís meet on property tax

None of the MLAs from Ludhiana on Thursday attended the meeting called by Deputy Commissioner Rahul Tewari to discuss the proposed property tax. Local MP Manish Tewari sent a message that because his party opposed this tax, he would abstain from the meeting.

However, Municipal Council presidents from Khanna, Jagraon, Samrala, Payal, Sahnewal and Doraha attended the meeting.

The DC said, "It was a time-bound meeting, so we could not wait for the MLAs to be present at the next meeting. Now we will be issuing the draft of the tax in two days on which further objections can be given for 30 days, and the tax will be implemented from April 1."

Discussing the tax, he said, "Within the eight zones of Ludhiana city, the unit value will range from Rs 20,000 to Rs 2 lakh while in the other surrounding areas, the unit value will range from Rs 10,000-Rs 50,000. But the assessment will be done after filing the suggestions and after studying them."

MC Commissioner R K Verma, and SDMs of East, West, Jagraon, Khanna and Payal were present at the meeting.

Before this, objections were sought to the proposal by the MC office. As a result, over 122 objections had come. Even MLAs had submitted their objections.

In the majority of objections, people had stated that the tax should not be introduced.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus