Mahendra Singh Dhoni wins LG People's Choice Award; named captain of ICC ODI Team of the Year

Mahendra Singh DhoniMahendra Singh Dhoni also finds a place in the ICC ODI Team of the Year for the sixth consecutive year (IE Photo)

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has won this year's LG People's Choice Award. He now becomes only the third cricketer to win this coveted prize after Sachin Tendulkar, who was the first-ever recipient in 2010, and Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara, who won it in 2011 and 2012.

Other nominations: Australia's Michael Clarke, England's Alastair Cook, India's Virat Kohli, and South Africa's AB de Villiers

The ICC also announced its Test and ODI Teams of the Year, as chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by the ICC's Cricket Committee chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble.

The announcement was made by ICC Chief Executive David Richardson at a media conference in Mumbai, at which Mr Richardson also announced the short-lists for the LG ICC Awards 2013, which will be broadcast as a TV show later in the year. The LG ICC Awards recognise the best international players over the period 7 August 2012 to 25 August 2013.

The ICC Test Team of the Year is (in batting order): Alastair Cook (Eng, captain) Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind) Hashim Amla (SA) Michael Clarke (Aus) Michael Hussey (Aus) AB de Villiers (SA) MS Dhoni (Ind - Wicketkeeper) Graeme Swann (Eng) Dale Steyn (SA) James Anderson (Eng) Vernon Philander (SA) 12th Man: Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind)

ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order): Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL) Shikhar Dhawan (Ind) Hashim Amla (SA) Kumar Sangakkara (SL) AB de Villiers (SA) MS Dhoni (Ind, captain and wicketkeeper) Ravindra Jadeja (Ind) Saeed Ajmal (Pak) Mitchell Starc (Aus) James Anderson (Eng) Lasith Malinga (SL) 12th Man: Mitchell McClenaghan (NZ)

Short-lists announced for LG ICC Awards 2013

Individual Awards

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year

Hashim Amla (SA) James Anderson (Eng) Michael Clarke (Aus) Alastair Cook (Eng) MS Dhoni (Ind) Kumar Sangakkara (SL) ICC Test Cricketer of the Year Hashim Amla (SA) James Anderson (Eng) Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind) Michael Clarke (Aus) Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind) Dale Steyn (SA)

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus