Maitra Cup football from Dec 14

Leading schools from the city will be participating in the J.C. Maitra & J.C. Bhattacharjee Memorial boys' under-16 inter schools football tournament, to be organised and hosted by Bengal Club Sports Academy. The matches will be played at the Shivaji Park from December 14-19. A total of 24 teams, including last year's champions St. Francis D'Assisi, St. Xavier's, Fort and Don Bosco, will be seen in action in the event. The winning team will receive a cash award of Rs. 10,000 and the J.C.Maitra Rolling Trophy, while the runners-up will receive Rs.5,000 and the J.C. Bhattacharjee Rolling Trophy. In addition, there will be special prizes for outstanding players of the tournament. For further details contact Bengal club at 24451538 / 09821044640 or via e-mail

Monica is Perth-bound

For the very first time, an Indian girls under-18 years team has qualified to participate in the FINA World Youth Water polo Championships that is currently being held at Perth, Australia from 2-9 December. Among these players proudly wearing the Indian colours is Monica Moses, class X Student of Bombay Scottish School, Mahim, Mumbai; trained by veteran water polo coach Percy Hakim at the MGMO Swimming Pool. Besides being the youngest in the team, she is also the only player from Mumbai. The Indian contingent comprises of Vismaya V (GK), Archa A.A., Sreekutty J, Divya V, Priya C. (Kerala), Mansi Gawde, Pooja Kose, Monica Moses, Swapnali Suryavanshi, Rajeshree Gugale (Maharashtra); Kalutri Mitra, Sarbanti Das (Bengal) and Aishwarya Murthy (Karnataka).

Don Bosco bag title

Don Bosco, Matunga bagged the top honours in the 12thAmalendu Roye Memorial Inter-School Football Tournament for boys' under-16. The Matunga schoolboys defeated St. Augustine, Nerul, at the MSSA ground, Dhobi Talao. In an evenly contested match Don Bosco won by a lone goal scored by Marc D'Souza in the 10th Minute of the second half. Earlier in the playoff for third place, Jamanabai Narsee beat St.Xavier's Fort 1-0 by a goal scored by Thapa Vasan. Digambar Kandarkar, President of MDFA presided over the prize distribution ceremony.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus