Manmohan Singh elected to Rajya Sabha for 5th term, Congress wins both seats in Assam

Prime Minister Manmohan SinghPrime Minister Manmohan Singh

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh was elected to Rajya Sabha for the fifth consecutive term today as Congress won both the seats to the Upper House from Assam.

Singh got 49 first preference votes, while the second Congress candidate bagged 45 votes in the 126-member state Assembly, its Principal Secretary and Returning Officer G P Das said.

All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF)'s Aminul Islam, who polled 18 votes, lost, he said.

AIUDF is a partner of the UPA at the Centre and its 18 MLAs gave their second preference vote to the Prime Minister.

The Prime Minister was the only contestant for the first preference vote seat as the other parties did not put up any candidate against him.

The votes of all 78 Congress members and its ally Bodoland Peoples Front's 12 MLAs were found to be valid, Das said.

Opposition Asom Gana Parishad and BJP, who have nine and five MLAs respectively, had earlier decided to abstain from voting.

The Congress now has five members out of seven in Assam to the Rajya Sabha.

Polling was held from 9 AM to 4 PM at the Assembly and counting of votes began at 5 PM.

The election process has to be completed before June 3 as per the Election Commission's May 13 notification.

Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi today congratulated Prime Minister Manmohan Singh for his fifth consecutive win to Rajya Sabha.

He also congratulated the other Congress winner Santius Kujur.

''Both Dr Singh and Kujur would work for the progress and prosperity of the state and the country as a whole,'' he added.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.