Meghlaya anti-graft activists demand action against Speaker Charles Pyngrope, other politicians

India against corruption

A day after former Haryana chief minister Om Prakash Chautala was convicted by a court in the illegal teachers recruitment scam, anti-graft activists in Meghalaya demanded similar actions be taken against Speaker Charles Pyngrope, four cabinet ministers and a number of MLAs and bureaucrats for their alleged involvement in a similar scam in the state.

"We demand that Ampareen Lyngdoh and others politicians including the Speaker Charles Pyngrope, his deputy Sanbor Shullai, cabinet ministers A L Hek, Prestone Tynsong and others all who allegedly indulged in similar criminality and made corrupt recommendations of undeserving candidates, should be treated in the same way," influential women NGO leader Agnes Kharshiing said.

Anti-graft activists in Meghalaya had on November 7 sought police action against the state ministers and legislators named by the CBI in a biggest job scam that rocked Meghalaya last year.

The CBI had named five cabinet ministers, the Assembly Speaker and six legislators in the Congress-led coalition government besides other politicians for tampering with the score-sheets of the candidates applying for the post of assistant teachers in 2010.

While declining to register cases against those persons named in the CBI report, the police pleaded that charges be added to a case they registered based on a similar FIR lodged by an aggrieved candidate.

While the Education department had appointed 350 names as successful candidates in the selection process, the CBI report said, 255 were those names allegedly recommended by the politicians.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.