Michael Clarke wins big, Cheteshwar Pujara named ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year

Michael ClarkeMichael Clarke was named ICC Cricketer of the Year and the Aussie skipper also bagged the Test Player of the Year award (AP)

Michael Clarke was named ICC Cricketer of the Year on Friday with the Australia captain also bagging the Test Player of the Year award after a stellar season with the bat.

Sri Lankan Kumar Sangakkara, who won both the honours last year, has been named ODI Cricketer Of the Year, the International Cricket Council (ICC) said in a statement.

Promising Indian top order batsman Cheteshwar Pujara was named ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year.

"I was very surprised, to be honest, I think probably because there are so many guys who are playing so well around the world at the moment," Clarke told Cricket Australia website (www.cricket.com.au).

Clarke was the world's leading run-scorer in the voting period which included the team's 4-0 drubbing in India and 3-0 Ashes loss in England.

"I'd swap it for the team to have success, that's for sure," said Clarke, who has led from the front as Australia inched closer to regaining the urn by racing to a 2-0 lead in the ongoing return Ashes series.

Clarke amassed 1559 run in the voting period averaging 70-plus with the help of five hundreds, two being double centuries.

The 32-year-old right-hand batsman said he wanted to get even better to establish himself among the greats of the game.

"It's an honour to have won this award this year, but if I want to become a great player, I need to make sure I'm scoring runs and helping this team win games for a few more years to come yet."

Richard Kettleborough of England won the top umpire's award while New Zealand captain Suzie Bates was named the Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year.

List of winners:

Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) - Michael Clarke (Australia)

Test Cricketer of the Year - Michael Clarke (Australia)

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus