MIM, Sena corporators come to blows in Nanded civic body

Sena corporators were opposing MIM corporators' demands of printing the House agenda in Urdu.

Corporators of the Shiv Sena and the Hyderabad based Majlis-e-Ittihadul Muslimeen came to blows in the Nanded Waghola Corporation after MIM corporators demanded the revival of the practice where the house agenda is published in Urdu apart from Marathi.

"Till 2007, the agenda of the house was published in Urdu as well. We demanded that as there are a large number of Urdu-speaking Corporators the practice should be revived. The Sena Corporators became agitated over this issue leading to a minor scuffle," Moinuddin Syed, president of the Nanded Unit of MIM said.

MIM as well as Shiv Sena Corporators were seen pushing and trading blows with each other. They were subsequently separated by other Corporators in the House.

In communally-sensitive Nanded, the Owaisi family promoted MIM had created a minor flutter when it bagged 11 seats in the 81-seat strong Nanded Waghola Municipal Corporation.

"If the agenda is published in Urdu it should be published in Punjabi as well that is all that we were saying. It was the MIM corporators who became aggressive against us forcing our members to retaliate," Nanded city president of the Shiv Sena Dilip Singh Rawat said.

The Sena members were also upset over the move by MIM Corporators to walk out of a condolence meet that was held by the Shiv Sena in the Corporation some days back.

Meanwhile the MIM has claimed that they did not do anything wrong in walking out of the condolence meet as they did not agree with Bal Thackeray's politics.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus