Mizoram Assembly polls: How the day unfolded

ThanhwlaThe results would reveal if four-time Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla faced anti-incumbency this time. (IE Photo)

Counting of votes for the 40-member Mizoram Assembly, election to which was held on November 25, began at 8 am on Monday in the headquarters of all eight districts of the state amidst tight security.

8:37 pm: MNF heavyweight and former Lok Sabha MP Vanlalzawma wins another seat for MDA with a margin of 978 votes in Aizawl West 3. This takes the MDA tally to 6.

8:05: Re-poll to be held in one polling booth of Lawngtlai East due to an EVM malfunction. Congress candidate was up by 83 votes on last count.

6:15 pm: MNF president and two-time CM Zoramthanga loses to former Young Mizo Association president T Sangkunga by 798 votes.

5:10 pm: In one of the biggest upsets this poll, MNF vice president Dr R Lalthangliana loses to Congress' Chalrosanga by 94 votes for the Lunglei West seat. Dr R Lalthangliana had been undefeated for six straight terms till date. Chalrosanga is the younger brother of state sports minister Zodintluanga. Their sister is the daughter-in-law of Lal Thanhawla. Dr R Lalthangliana was Leader of Opposition in the last assembly. Meanwhile, MNF president and two-time CM Zoramthanga is trailing in East Tuipui.

2:55 pm: MDA veteran K Sangthuama beats ZNP president Laldhuoma and Congress mahila president Thangthanmawii in Aizawl West 1 seat.

2:50 pm: Expected "dark horse" Zoram Nationalist Party president Laduhoma trails behind both Congress and MDA in home bastion Aizawl West 1 as round one of counting ends. His party has so far not won any seats although it won 2 seats in the last assembly polls.

2:45 pm: Congress heading towards majority with 20 out of 40 seats in its kitty.

2:40 pm: Congress leader and Speaker in the last assembly R Romawia wins in Aizawl North 1 seat by margin of 657 votes.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus