Modi holds marathon meetings, sets target of 272-plus seats in LS

AhmedabadSupporters celebrate Modiís anointment as BJPís prime ministerial candidate, outside party headquarters in Ahmedabad. Javed Raja

Soon after being declared as the prime ministerial candidate of his party, Narendra Modi made it clear that his target was winning 272-plus seats in the Lok Sabha polls. After an appeal on the social media in this regard, the Chief Minister held back-to-back meetings, including a three-hour BJP meeting and consultations with senior leaders.

"Let us work together to make mission 272+ a reality," read the first post on his official portal, with a photograph of Modi flashing a V for victory sign. The CM has also announced a phone number on his portal, and his well-wishers can send him messages on this number.

While his office in Swarnin Sankul-1 at Sardar Patel secretariat was closed on account of holiday for second Saturday, Modi worked from his official residence.

"A party meeting was held to take stock of the situation and start work on his mission. This time, the BJP will try to capture most of the seats in Gujarat," said a senior party leader, adding that the meeting at the CM's residence lasted for three hours and was attended by most of the senior leaders from Gujarat. Modi, said sources, also held individual meetings with Finance Minister Nitin Patel, Revenue Minister Anandi Patel and Power and Petrochemical Minister Saurabh Patel.

In between these meetings, the flow of tweets did not stop. Modi thanked party workers for a warm welcome at Ahmedabad airport on Friday; he thanked friends for best wishes, and expressed inability to reply to everyone individually.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus