Modi may field his loyal ‘losers’ again


Parsottam Rupala, I K Jadeja may get tickets.

While the Congress has decided not to field candidates who lost last time in the upcoming Assembly polls, the ruling BJP may give tickets to old loyalists of Chief Minister Narendra Modi even if they have a bad record of losing elections in the past.

According to party sources, former cabinet minister and national vice-president of BJP Parsottam Rupala, who lost against Congress's 25-year-old Paresh Dhanani from Amreli last time, may be fielded from Manavadar in Junagadh.

Kaushik Patel who lost from Shahpur to Gyasuddin Sheikh may contest either from Sabarmati or Ghatlodia.

Bhupendrasinh Chudasama, who lost from Dholka to Kanji Talpada, and I K Jadeja, who lost to Hirabhai Patel from Dhangadhra, may also be renominated to contest. Both Sheikh and Talpada were first-time contestants from the Congress.

Former minister of state Bharat Pandya, who lost in Dhandhuka against Ranchchod Mer, an Independent candidate, is also likely to get a BJP ticket.

Similarly, Chhatrasinh Mori, who lost from Jambusar to Congress's Kiran Makwana, and Ranchchod Rabari, a former MoS who lost from Vagdod, are also set to join the fray on BJP tickets.

Same is true for Harjivan Patel from Dhanera and Bimal Shah from Kapadvanj.

"Health Minister Jay Narayan Vyas, who is MLA from Siddhpur, Nitin Patel, MLA from Kadi, Fakir Vaghela, who had lost from Dasada, former MoS and MLA from Limbdi Kiritsinh Rana and many others who had lost in 2002 but won in 2007 by a thin margin are also likely to get tickets from their old constituency or some other constituencies," a senior BJP leader said.

The BJP's final list candidates is likely to be declared on November 15 or 16.

Gadkari may skip Gujarat

BJP president Nitin Gadkari, who is besieged by allegations of corruption, may not come to Gujarat for campaigning, sources in the state unit of the party said.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus