Modi supporters from Bihar get promotion, Shahnawaz misses out


Two BJP leaders who have been backing Narendra Modi as NDA PM candidate have found their place in BJP president Rajnath Singh's team for the party's mission 2014. With this move, the BJP leadership has also thwarted the simmering discontent in the state BJP.

Former state BJP president C P Thakur, who has been sulking after being denied another term, has been made BJP vice president. Thakur, who had recently skipped the party executive meet at Patna and raised a banner of revolt against the new state party president Mangal Pande, is a known supporter of Modi. He had once said that Modi was a better choice for NDA PM nominee than others, including Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

Another Modi acolyte from Bihar and BJP Nokha MLA, Rameshwar Chaurasia, has been made secretary in Team Rajnath. He had extensively campaigned in the recent Gujarat polls. He is one of the senior BJP leaders who had questioned the elevation of Pande as state party chief.

However, Bhagalpur MP and party national spokesperson, Syed Shahnawaz Hussain, may be unhappy at not being made a national general secretary at a time when his friend Rajiv Pratap Rudy has been made general secretary in the new BJP team.

The elevation of Thakur and Chaurasia could be a clear signal to the state BJP unit, which has been divided on the issue of projecting Modi as the NDA's PM candidate. Earlier Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi had stressed at the recent state BJP meet that he was willing to contest the Lok Sabha polls under Modi if the party desired so.

"Wherever we go, party workers rally support for Modi. It is only fair to echo sentiments of common party workers. Now that Modi is in parliamentary board, it is up to the top leaders to take a call on Modi projection," he said.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus