Motor racing-Formula One calendar for 2013

F1 season

The 19-race Formula One season, which starts in Melbourne on March 17, will have no new grands prix this year and one fewer than last season following the postponement of New Jersey's debut to 2014.

The following box details each race and its key characteristics.


Albert Park street circuit. 58 laps of 5.303km. Total distance 307.574km. 2012 winner: Jenson Button (McLaren). Melbourne has hosted what has become one of the most popular races on the calendar since 1996.


Sepang circuit. 56 laps of 5.543km. Total distance 310.408km. 2012 winner: Fernando Alonso (Ferrari). The hot and steamy Hermann Tilke-designed track, next to Kuala Lumpur International Airport, made its debut in 1999.


Shanghai International Circuit. 56 laps of 5.451km. Total distance 305.066km. 2012 winner: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes). Built on a vast, and some might say overwhelming, scale in the shape of the Chinese character 'shang'. On the calendar since 2004.


Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir. 57 laps of 5.412km. Total distance 308.238km. 2012 winner: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull). Another Tilke circuit and the first in the Middle East to host a grand prix in 2004. Civil unrest on the Gulf island has cast a cloud over the race since 2011.


Circuit de Catalunya, Barcelona. 66 laps of 4.655km. Total distance 307.104km. 2012 winner: Pastor Maldonado (Williams). A regular test destination and once the most predictable of circuits, familiar to all teams since 1991.


Monte Carlo. 78 laps of 3.340km. Total distance 260.520km. 2012 winner: Mark Webber (Red Bull). The slowest and shortest race on the calendar but also the most glamorous. Steeped in history, Monaco is the one every driver wants to win.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.