MSU professor held for spraying V-C's chair with herb that stings

MSU prof

The officiating dean of the law faculty of M S University (MSU), Ghanshyam Solanki, was arrested by city's Fatehgunj police Monday evening for allegedly spraying a herb, known in local language as kuvech which causes acute irritation when it comes in contact with human body, on the chair that was to be occupied by university vice-chancellor (V-C) Yogesh Singh at a national seminar organised Saturday.

The seminar on the Right to Education (RTE), organised at the law faculty, was attended by the V-C. Gujarat High Court judge Sonia Gokani was the chief guest at the event. The effect of the herb was so strong that Singh was forced to leave the venue within 2-3 minutes after he occupied the chair, university officials said.

Police said Solanki had confessed to having applied the herb on the chair.

Solanki is an associate professor with the faculty of law. He has also served as the senate member of the university in the past. "Solanki has confessed to having applied it. However, he said the herb was not targeted at the V-C, but at the dean of the faculty, S S Bhattacharya, with whom he wanted to settle some personal scores," Fatehgunj police inspector P L Chaudhary said.

"We are trying to find out why he wanted to hurt the dean," he said.

Solanki was booked under Sections 186, 323, and 290 of the IPC for obstructing a public servant in discharge of public duty, causing hurt and public nuisance, Chaudhary said.

Kuvech is known for causing extreme irritation when it comes in contact with the body. It has various agricultural and horticultural use, besides medicinal properties.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.