National Awards: Antaheen best film, Priyanka Chopra best actress

Bengali film Antaheen has bagged the top honours at the 56th National Film Awards for 2008 announced on Saturday by the Information & Broadcasting (I&B) Ministry. Adjudged the Best Feature Film, Antaheen also swept the awards for Best Cinematography, Best Lyrics and Best Female Playback Singer category. President Pratibha Patil will be giving away the awards in March.

Abhay Deol-starrer Oye Lucky Lucky Oye won the award for the Best Popular film providing wholesome entertainment and UTV's A Wednesday directed by Neeraj Pandey has won the Indira Gandhi award for Best First Film of a director. While Upendra Limaye will be given the Best Actor award for his performance in Marathi feature film Jogva, Priyanka Chopra's performance in Hindi film Fashion has won her the Best Actress award. Kangana Ranaut has won the Best Supporting Actress Award for Fashion while Arjun Rampal has been judged Best Supporting Actor for Rock On. Hariharan and Shreya Ghoshal have been selected in the Best Playback Singers in the Male and Female categories respectively.

While Rock On won the Best Feature Film award in the 'Best Feature Film in each of the language specified in the Schedule VIII of the constitution' category, Nandita Das's directorial debut Firaaq will be awarded for Best Editing and Best Art Direction. Little Zizou (English, Gujarati) has been adjudged the Best Film on Family values while the Special Jury Award will go to Malayalam film Bioscope produced by the National Film Development Corporation. The Best Children's Film Award will go to Kannada film Gubbachigalu. Shams Patel bagged the Best Child Artist for his role in Hindi film Thanks Maa. The Best Animation Film award will go to Yash Raj banner's Roadside Romoeo.

Marathi film Jogva was also chosen in Best Film on Social Issues category as also for the Best Music Direction award. Ashutosh Gowariker's Jodha Akbar bagged awards in the Best Choreography category and the Best Costume Designer category which went to designer Neeta Lulla. The Best Critic Award was announced for Altaf Mazid for his focus on the Assamese film industry and to R K Bidur Singh for upholding the cause of regional film makers.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.