Naxals kill 7 policemen in Bihar

Naxal attack

IN the second Naxal attack in Bihar in less than a week, seven policemen, including the in-charge of Tandwa police station and five Special Auxiliary Police (SAP) personnel, were killed in a landmine blast in Navinagar in Aurangabad district on Tuesday.

According to reports, the incident took place around 4 pm at Tilharpur village on the Tandwa-Navinagar main road, on the Bihar-Jharkhand border. Tandwa police station in-charge Sub-Inspector Ajay Kumar was returning from Navinagar to Tandwa with five SAP personnel and a driver in a police vehicle when the blast occurred. All seven, including the driver, were killed on the spot.

"The bodies cannot be identified easily. It is surprising that the landmine blast took place on the main road," said Navinagar police station in-charge Dhruv Kumar Singh. Senior officers including the Aurangabad SP have rushed to the spot.

Sources said Manas, "spokesperson" of the Maoists' Bihar Jharkhand Special Area Committee, told the local media that the attack was in response to the "undeclared Operation Greenhunt launched by the Bihar government in which several people were killed in fake encounters".

Sources also said the Naxals may have planned the attack in retaliation against the arrest of Maoist leader Pradip Yadav last month. The spurt in Naxal attacks follows the drive to attach the properties of 21 Naxals, including prominent leader Arvindji.

Meanwhile, the Bihar cabinet on Tuesday cleared a new surrender and rehabilitation policy for Naxals.

On Saturday, three Government Railway Police (GRP) personnel were killed in a Naxal attack on a Patna-bound train in Munger.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus