Nine Metro stations to remain closed tomorrow

Nine Metro stations in Central Delhi will continue to remain closed tomorrow as per a Delhi Police directive to prevent protesters from reaching India Gate.

The nine stations, including the perennially busy Rajiv Chowk, will continue to remain closed tomorrow as well, DMRC officials said tonight.

They said the decision was taken as per directions from Delhi Police.

The Metro stations which will remain closed are Pragati Maidan, Mandi House, Barakhamba Road, Rajiv Chowk, Patel Chowk, Central Secretariat, Udyog Bhawan, Race Course and Khan Market.

These stations remained closed today as well though some gates were opened late in the evening. Commuters were put to lot of inconvenience due to the shutdown today.

The measures were taken following yesterday's pitched battles at Rajpath and India Gate between police personnel and protesters agitating over the rape of a 23-year-old girl in a moving bus here last Sunday night.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.