No room for Muslims in BJP line-up


9% Representation in population

15 Muslim MLAs in 1985, highest ever

Babubhai Supariwala: First Muslim minister, held civil supplies from 1985 to 1989 under CM Amarsinh Chaudhary

Sirajuddin Kazi: Civil supplies minister in 1994-95 under Chhabildas Mehta

Farooq Sheikh: Longest serving Muslim MLA, since 1998

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.