One secures victory by 24 votes, 7 by less than 800

At least eight constituencies, out of the total 68 in Himachal Pradesh, witnessed close contests with the margins between the victor and the vanquished being less than 800 votes. Of these eight, the Congress won three seats, BJP two, while three seats were won by Independent candidates.

Kasauli assembly constituency recoded the distinction of narrowest victory margin of 24 votes. BJP candidate Rajiv Saizal with 19,960 votes defeated the Congress' Vinod Sultanpuri (19,936 votes).

Among other constituencies, which faced tough fights is Chintpurni where Congress' Kuldeep Kumar with 23,720 votes defeated BJP's Balbir Singh by 438 votes. Singh had got 23,282 votes.

The victory margin for Independent candidate Pawan Kajal in Kangra constituency was 563 votes. While Pawan got 14,632 votes, his arch rival Chaudhary Surinder Kumar got 14,069 votes.

Similar in Sri Renukaji, Congress candidate Vinay Kumar defeated BJP's Hirdaya Ram by a margin of only 655 votes. While Vinay Kumar got 21,332 votes, Hirdaya Ram got 20,677.

The victory margin for another Independent candidate, Kirnesh Jung, was 790 votes in Paonta Sahib constituency. While Kirnesh got 23,713 votes, BJP candidate Sukh Ram, who finished second, got 22,923 votes. Another close contest was witnessed in Chopal, where again an Independent, Balbir Singh Verma, defeated Congress' Subash Chand Manglate by 647 votes. While Balbir Singh secured 22,056 votes, Subash Chand got 21,409 votes.

The BJP won by a narrow margin in Shimla, where its candidate Suresh Bhardwaj defeated Congress' Harish Janartha by a margin of 628 votes. While Harish got 10,935 votes, Bhardwaj secured 11,563 votes.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.