Exit poll predicts huge win for BJP's Narendra Modi in Gujarat Assembly elections

Narendra Modi

A post-poll survey today predicted a bigger victory margin for BJP in Gujarat Assembly elections as compared to the 2007 outcome, saying the ruling party could get 129 to 141 seats out of a total of 182.

The exit poll showed Congress is likely to get 37 to 45 seats in the Assembly with a vote share of 36 per cent against BJP's 48 per cent. Former Chief Minister Keshubhai Patel's Gujarat Parivartan Party is likely to get 7 per cent votes.

In the 2007 Assembly polls, BJP had won in 117 seats while Congress had bagged 59.

The CNN-IBN and The Week post-poll survey, conducted by CSDS, said compared to the 2007 performance, the vote share of both the parties--BJP and Congress--is likely to fall by 1 per cent and 2 per cent respectively.

The survey showed 49 per cent of the respondents wanted to re-elect Narendra Modi's party while only 36 per cent responded in the negative.

It said popularity of Chief Minister Narendra Modi has gone up over the years compared to his rivals like Shankersinh Vaghela of Congress and Patel of GPP. 46 per cent of the respondents preferred Narendra Modi as the Chief Minister compared to his rivals, it said.

Giving region-wise analysis, the survey said it appears that the ruling BJP is going to increase its seat tally in north and central Gujarat regions while the party is likely to lose some seats in Saurashtra and south Gujarat regions.

The post-poll survey was conducted across 60 Assembly constituencies in the state between December 13 and 18. A total of 7,200 respondents were targeted and 3,755 respondents participated in it.

Gujarat Assembly Elections D-day

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus