Party baton may pass on to Yadav, Gupta and Singh

With Arvind Kejriwal sworn in as Chief Minister and six other AAP leaders joining his Cabinet, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is now looking for new faces to lead them, especially with the Lok Sabha elections less than five months away.

After holding significant posts within the party, AAP's Political Affairs Committee members Yogendra Yadav, Sanjay Singh and Pankaj Gupta will now spearhead the party's campaign for the Lok Sabha elections. At a press conference two days ago, Singh and Gupta were put in charge of identifying candidates for the Lok Sabha polls, and will tour different states to ascertain organisational strength.

Having been closely associated with Kejriwal since the Right to Information movement days in 2005, Singh was also a part of the Jan Lokpal movement in 2011 before he became one of the founding members of AAP. He led committees on fundraising and party organisation during the Delhi polls.

Yadav, the party's most media-savvy face, will look at party strategy, especially with his background in psephology.

Party sources it was a planned move to not give tickets to these three. "Yadav is a known face in Haryana and is, in all likelihood, one of the faces of our national campaign. Sanjay Singh, too, is a grassroot leader," a party leader said.

Sources, however, said despite his attention now largely on Delhi's problems, all decisions will have to go past Kejriwal. "He is the party's national convenor and since every major decision is vetted by the PAC, he will actively participate in the decision-making process. Sanjay and Yogendra will also look at issues in Delhi wherever required," a party member said.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.