Party workers burn effigy of Dist Cong president


The Congress infighting came out in the open after a few party workers burnt an effigy of District Congress Committee (DCC) president Pawan Dewan on Tuesday.

The incident followed Dewan's objections to more than 30 appointments made by PPCC president Capt Amarinder Singh on the recommendation of MLAs Bhara Bhushan Ashu and Surinder Dawar.

Dewan had stated that the MLAs did not follow the protocol in getting the appointments made as they should have been done through the DCC president. He had even complained to the PPCC president about this.

However, Rajesh Soni, former general secretary of DCC who along with other workers burnt Dewan's effigy near Arora Palace, said, "It is really unfortunate that Dewan is raising objections to small issues which don't matter at all. He is creating a rift within the party and for this, the high command should remove him from his post. This is giving a bad image to the party."

Naresh Kapila, another Congress worker, said, "The Congress MLAs have got appointments of loyal Congress workers made in the party. So what is the harm in this?"

The workers also alleged that Dewan had fielded weak candidates from many wards in MC elections held in June 2012, helping the ruling alliance to win seats. They raised a question mark over his choice of candidates.

Sanjeev, another Congress worker, said the candidates fielded on the recommendation of MLAs had performed very well.

Dewan was unavailable for comment. However, a few days back, he had mentioned that the appointments made were null and void.

The MLAs said in that case, the DCC president was questioning the PPCC president as well.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.