Peeved, faculty body to boycott AIIMS convocation

Unhappy with repeated requests to hold a general body meeting to address its several long-standing grievances, the Faculty Association of AIIMS (FAIIMS) will boycott the institute's annual convocation on Thursday.

The decision was taken expressing solidarity with 19 of its members who were denied promotions in the last assessment of the institute.

In a letter addressed to AIIMS Director Dr R C Deka, the faculty association said, "Despite our repeated requests, the AIIMS administration is yet to call a governing body meeting to review the case of our 19 colleagues whose promotions under the assessment promotion scheme have been withheld this year."

Representatives of the association said after the first letter sent to the director in July went unanswered, they reiterated the same to the administration on September 9.

Dr Manoj Singh, president of FAIIMS, said, "We have decided to boycott the convocation and other official events in future till our concerns are addressed."

Faculty members said many "undeserving members" with poor performance records were promoted while others who had a considerable number of scientific publications to their names were denied promotions.

FAIIMS said it was also unhappy that only three staff council meetings being held between 2009 and 2012, the tenure of the present director.

A section of the faculty also expressed dissatisfaction that no permanent appointment was made to the post of Dean after the retirement of the former Dean on July 31. Faculty members said the temporary appointment was made overlooking several senior professors.

Despite these concerns being communicated to Union Health Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad, who will preside over the convocation ceremony, the faculty association said no steps were taken by the administration or the health ministry to engage with them.

The 41st convocation ceremony will see over 500 degrees being awarded in medicine and allied sciences including MBBS, MD, MS and PhDs. Twenty-nine certificates of academic excellence will also be awarded by chief guest Dr Margaret Chan, Director General of World Health Organisation.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.