PGI’s ENT surgeon awarded Desa-Memorial oration award

Prof Ashok Gupta, an ENT surgeon working at PGIMER, Chandigarh, was honoured with the Dr Joe V Desa-Memorial Oration Award at the 65th Annual Conference of the 'Association of Otolaryngologists of India-AOI'. Since the inception of this prestigious oration by the AOI for over two decades, Prof Gupta is the first Indian recipient of this oration.

The society has more than 7,000 active members and about 2000 ENT surgeons from India and abroad attended this meeting at Pune, India. In this oration, Prof Gupta presented his pioneering research work on 'Stem cells in Traumatic Optic Neuropathy'.

He presented his immense experience in the area and shared his research innovations in the clinical utility in the field of traumatic optic neuropathy.

He has cured many patients attending PGI from different parts of the country with total vision loss due to traumatic optic nerve injury using stem cells and has received worldwide acclaim for his revolutionary research work.

Prof Gupta concluded that the technique needs to be validated in a large cohort of patients in country wide trials to validate the research findings and requires a dedicated interdisciplinary research team and state-of-the-art set-up to carry out such research endeavours.

Two others, Dr Abdul Wadood Mohammed and Dr Aniruddha, also received awards for best research presentations in the same meeting held at Pune.

This is the second oration award in a row bestowed on Prof Gupta.

Last month, he received a very prestigious oration by the All India Rhinology Society of India (AIRS) during the Silver Jubilee celebrations of the society at New Delhi.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.