Pitroda, Swaraj, Bachchan to be honoured

Technology expert Sam Pitroda, politician Sushma Swaraj, actor Amitabh Bachchan, and Swami Tejomayananda of Chinmaya Mission will be honoured with the South Indian Education Society (SIES) Sri Chandrasekarendra Saraswati National Eminence award on December 25 at the Shanmukhananda auditorium, Matunga. The award is part of the Kanchi Mahaswami festival, which will be held from December 21 to 27.

So far, 48 people have been honoured with the award, and previous recipients include Shankar Dayal Sharma, A P J Abdul Kalam, R Chidambaram, Jayant Narlikar, Somnath Chatterjee, M S Subbulakshmi, Lata Mangeshkar, Varghese Kurien, Sunil Dutt and Dilip Kumar.

On December 21, co-hosts Shanmukhananda Fine Arts & Sangeetha Sabha, will also award violinist L Subramaniam the Sri Jayendra Saraswati National Eminence Award, which will be followed by his performance. On December 22, noted Carnatic singer M Balamuralikrishna will be presented the Lifetime Achievement award by governor K Sankaranarayanan.

Grammy awardee T H Vinayakaram will be presenting the Mahaswami Sangeethanjali on December 26. The sankaracharya of Kanchi, Jayendra Saraswati Swamigal will be present on all the occasions.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus